#custserv 06 :: Online Travel Customer Service

JeffreyJKingman Welcome everyone to tonight’s Customer Service Dialogue w/@MarshaCollier

JeffreyJKingman Tonight’s #custserv is Online Travel

MarshaCollier You can follow along tonight by using http://tweetchat.com. Enter custserv in the field at the top. We’re a fast-moving dialogue

JeffreyJKingman Online travel centers are the largest segment of e-commerce

MarshaCollier A travel website is a website on the world wide web, that is dedicated to travel.

JeffreyJKingman Online travel sites provide both tour info, reviews and reservations

MarshaCollier The site may be focused on travel reviews, the booking of travel, or a combination of both.

MarshaCollier Approximately seventy million consumers researched travel plans online in July 2006

MarshaCollier Travel bookings are the single largest component of e-commerce, according to Forrester Research.

MarshaCollier Q1 Have you ever booked travel on such a website? Which one? Was it easy?

MarshaCollier I recently booked my hotels for a trip to London for the #140conf using @Bing

JeffreyJKingman I’ve used kayak.com for domestic travel and had pretty good results. #custserv Never did a tour booking

MichelFalcon What is your most trusted travel website and why?

MarshaCollier How do you book your travel online?

MichelFalcon Mine is Tripadvisor and Travelpod b/c of the diversity in content, detail and videos/photos

MarshaCollier @MichelFalcon Interesting that I found Ging Travel to be an excellent consolidator of ALL the sites

JeffreyJKingman This chat will be good – working up a food-blogger/chef tour in Romania in the fall #custserv #recs

MarshaCollier er, that was BING http://www.bing.com /travel/

JeffreyJKingman @karla_porter you in tonight?

mommysbazaar sorry I am late I didnt see any of these tweets on my deck

MarshaCollier @MichelFalcon I agree, I went to TripAdvisor to check on hotels. But one man’s dump is another man’s castle LOL

JeffreyJKingman btw – last weeks transcript is posted at http://bit.ly/5YmVm1 – sorry for delay, I was busy…

MarshaCollier @mommysbazaar Have you ever booked travel online?

MichelFalcon @MarshaCollier user generated content (UGC) sites usually don’t have call centers to support. How do you feel they overcome that?

karla_porter sorry I was busy being a Special Agent, let me get over there now… RT @JeffreyJKingman: @karla_porter you in tonight?

JeffreyJKingman Does anyone have experience, good or bad, with Priceline Negotiator?

mommysbazaar a few flights here and there,

MarshaCollier @JeffreyJKingman I know@jeffpulver uses it. I’m afraid to.

mommysbazaar actually searching the net right now for my flight to Vegas in April

MarshaCollier @mommysbazaar We’re talking about booking online…

MichelFalcon @MarshaCollier Ging Travel or Bing Travel?

MarshaCollier @mommysbazaar try http://www.bing.com /travel/ – they have an airline price predictor that will tell you if NOW is the time to buy

MarshaCollier @MichelFalcon BING!

mommysbazaar @MarshaCollier whenever I have flown I booked the flight online, usually via orbits or Air Tran for my MIL

JeffreyJKingman @MarshaCollier Afraid you will succumb to laughing gas from ol’ Kirk?

karla_porter @Resume_Writer @Paris22 @Le_Brenda @yvetteferry I have been called to another mission –> #custserv

MarshaCollier No, I’m afraid of ending up in what they think is a four start and it’s a sub 3 star

hianthony @MarshaCollier Booked trip to Costa Rica online a few years ago with a co. that put package together. 10-days/3 cities. Success!

JeffreyJKingman @karla_porter What, or do, Special Agents use online travel booking?

mommysbazaar @MarshaCollier great , I will have to check that out later today

MichelFalcon @JeffreyJKingman never used Priceline. But, I’ve used Hotwire and have always loved their

MarshaCollier I book through those too, but check the flight price indicator first. Then go to American or Southwest or United

MarshaCollier @hianthony I would love to hear what you think when you return

karla_porter @JeffreyJKingman Generally we go covert and don’t use big online booking agencies…

MichelFalcon I had to call into Hotwire once and the phone was answered within 60 secs. Amazing

mommysbazaar @MarshaCollier I have used Southwest a few times to book flights for MIL

JeffreyJKingman @MichelFalcon I got turned onto Kayak a few years ago – now accustomed to their system

mommysbazaar funniest thing is i have never used an actual travel agent to book travel

MarshaCollier My hotel in Paris had a “fair” rating on TripAdvisor, but was exactly what I new I would get for low $ on the Champs Elysees

JeffreyJKingman RT @DragonflyHill: @JeffreyJKingman I have never had any luck with it . Plus once you make the bid, your done.

MarshaCollier @hianthony I just can’t go w TripAdvisor for hotel ratings

hianthony @MarshaCollier Went to Florida wedding last month. Folks used TripAdvisor to pick hotel with great reviews. Place was awful.

JeffreyJKingman @DragonflyHill which site did you use?

MarshaCollier @mommysbazaar Travel agent? what’s that? LOL

karla_porter @MarshaCollier I like TripAdvisor, I used it for my last venture to Toronto, the reviews were right on the money

MarshaCollier @hianthony Like I said, one mans castle is another man’s dump

MichelFalcon Sorry everyone gotta go. Got hit by car last night and am concussed = hurts looking at my comp. The paramedics provided amazing

mommysbazaar @MarshaCollier exactly, yet my parents use them for everything

MarshaCollier @karla_porter Have you used the Bing price predictor for flights? Pretty darn accurate

JeffreyJKingman I prefer using actual travel agent for complicated trips

Shennee_Rutt @MichelFalcon I love that Travelocity has multiple means of contacting you with alerts to hotel/flight/status chages, Great

karla_porter @MarshaCollier I try to only pay attention to the reviews with pics!

MarshaCollier @MichelFalcon glad they took care of you – go rest!

JeffreyJKingman @MichelFalcon wow – sorry to hear!

MarshaCollier @Shennee_Rutt Yes, Travelocity seems to really care that you’re covered

karla_porter @MarshaCollier no I will have to check out Bing I am due for a trip to Playa del carmen Mexico

karla_porter Travelocity call center is 1 mile from my house 😉

JeffreyJKingman Q2 Have you ever had a customer service issue using an online travel site?

mommysbazaar I have looked at travelocity but started using orbitz back in 2001 so I tend to stick with them

MarshaCollier @karla_porter Nice, they have a good hotel search too that searches ALL the travel sites with queries

JeffreyJKingman Q2 If so, could you describe the issue, process and resolution?

MarshaCollier @JeffreyJKingman I had to cancel a flight with American, they credited the flight & neglected to tell me credit would expire

MarshaCollier @mommysbazaar The search I sent you to covers them both

JeffreyJKingman It’s ok to name names in #custserv, if you wish!

MarshaCollier FYI Bing travel is NOT a sponsor LOL

karla_porter @MarshaCollier You are funny =)

MarshaCollier @JeffreyJKingman I was screwed, I forgot I had the credit, they didn’t automatically use it & I lost $500

JeffreyJKingman @mommysbazaar tough to move away from a website you are used to navigating; me too

JeffreyJKingman @MarshaCollier Was there further resolution after that or did you pursue it?

MarshaCollier @karla_porter Funny “ha-ha” or just er, “funny” ?? LOL

JeffreyJKingman @MarshaCollier ouch

MarshaCollier @JeffreyJKingman They told me tough luck, you’re out the money. Gee, Thanks American Airlines!

mommysbazaar @JeffreyJKingman the only time I was every worried about flying was when I had a flight booked for 10/12/01

JeffreyJKingman Was it American or United that broke that passengers guitar?

MarshaCollier It’s very important to read that 4 pt type outlining RULES when you book

Shennee_Rutt @karla_porter Have u ever booked a trip with them Travelocity #custserv. We booked twice to Las Vegas Very good.

mommysbazaar @MarshaCollier -@colderICE sends his hellos told him I was multitasking 🙂

MarshaCollier @mommysbazaar I flew to teach for eBay on 9/14/01 – YIKES! They gave use stickers for being brave

MarshaCollier @Shennee_Rutt Yes, reliable service with Travelocity

karla_porter @Shennee_Rutt I have never bought a “trip” in my life just plane tix 1X w Travelocity they messed up – fixed but 2 late

MarshaCollier (The purpose of this chat IS to name names! Don’t be shy)

MarshaCollier @karla_porter How did they handle it?

JeffreyJKingman Have you ever had to get a refund and if so how difficult was that?

SkagitIMS #custserv does a hotel website count as a travel site? Josef of @SkagitIMS

mommysbazaar @MarshaCollier the worst was my son was born 9/27 and we were flying back up north to show him off to family

JeffreyJKingman Q3 Have you ever had to get a refund and if so how difficult was that?

MarshaCollier @SkagitIMS Absolutely

karla_porter @MarshaCollier 2 get resolve I had 2 ask my employee 2 get he husband involved. Call center 4 them is down the street.

JeffreyJKingman @SkagitIMS I would consider hotel websites as travel sites.. Marsha?

MarshaCollier Q3: Refund? Pretty impossible on air fare, but did get credit and used it

awakeningaimee @JeffreyJKingman & @MarshaCollier what’s the current #custserv topic??

MarshaCollier @karla_porter You sent “Big Louie” to rought them up? Bet that got you good service!

JeffreyJKingman @MarshaCollier Are car rental websites covered in this chat too?

Shennee_Rutt I have had really great #custserv with Allegiant Airlines,

karla_porter Agreed usually credit RT @MarshaCollier: Q3: Refund? Pretty impossible on air fare, but did get credit and used it

SkagitIMS #custserv I never had a refund problem w/ the Hotel Deca, Seattle. Had great e-service & got best room for a view (1506) (1 of 2)

karla_porter @MarshaCollier Big Louie got me a nice voucher =)

JeffreyJKingman I have had excellent results with @Amtrak, both online and when in person

mommysbazaar I know a friend of mine gave us a week at a time share, it was supposed to be 5 star it was1 star she got an apology

JeffreyJKingman @awakeningaimee online travel customer service and sites (reservations: flights, hotels, etc)

MarshaCollier @JeffreyJKingman I *LOVE* Hertz Gold. They keep all my data and all I have to do is walk to my car

karla_porter I have traveled a lot, never had hotel or airline probs booking direct w them online @JeffreyJKingman

JeffreyJKingman @awakeningaimee past Q1 Have you ever booked travel on such a website? Which one? Was it easy?

MarshaCollier @mommysbazaar Thant’s inexcusable, did they follow up?

JeffreyJKingman @awakeningaimee Q2: Have you ever had a customer service issue using an online travel site?

MarshaCollier When I was in Paris, our room wasn’t avail when we arrived. They booked us a suite in another hotel and paid for car r/t

MarshaCollier @SkagitIMS Good to hear

JeffreyJKingman @awakeningaimee Q2 If so, could you describe the issue, process and resolution?

mommysbazaar not really blamed it on recovery from storms, hotel was called 4 season it was in Myrtle Beach

JeffreyJKingman @awakeningaimee Q3 Have you ever had to get a refund and if so how difficult was that?

MarshaCollier @karla_porter Shoulda sent Big Louie to American airlines

SkagitIMS In fact #custserv http://www.HotelDeca.com gave comp transport & made sure I had special orders ready for me to help sponsor conference. (2 of 2)

MarshaCollier I canceled a hotel room online and the refunded my credit card immediately. never had a problem with that

JeffreyJKingman It was United: http://bit.ly/gLoo1 Smashed guitar, YouTube song — United is listening now

MarshaCollier One of the problems I have is that when they quote LOW hotel prices, that price might be good for only ONE night of your stay

karla_porter when I travel for biz I stay wherever I’m sent. 4 personal I like adventure, hammocks, bungalows whatever book direct

MarshaCollier @karla_porter I have to stay where they send me too. You’d be surprised how many crappy hotels there are

Shennee_Rutt RT @MarshaCollier: @karla_porter Shoulda sent Big Louie to American airlines #custserv Everyone needs a Big Louie they can call.

JeffreyJKingman @awakeningaimee USAir cancelled? Any prior notification or found out at ticket counter?

awakeningaimee @JeffreyJKingman @MarshaCollier #custserv connecting flight he was cancelled & at first they told him he would have to sleep at the airport

karla_porter When I go 2 my 2nd home in Playa del Carmen I stay at Posada Mariposa or with friends

JeffreyJKingman I think my CB Radio handle should be “Big Louie” 🙂

JeffreyJKingman @awakeningaimee How did they resolve? Was it a hassle?

MarshaCollier @awakeningaimee was the layover due to a canceled flight?

msgatoradr @JeffreyJKingman Q3 Hotels.com great about refunding for special circumstances. Had wonderful service with them.

karla_porter 1X my baggage was delayed AA & the cc I put the tix on said buy new stuff and submit receipt $200. 6 hrs l8r bag @ door WOOT!

JeffreyJKingman @msgatoradr Any examples?

MarshaCollier @awakeningaimee There is a law against that it’s called Rule 240

MarshaCollier Rule 240 refers to the carrier’s policies for handling delays, diversions and cancellations.

goodskinla @MarshaCollier Once in NYC , The Four Seasons tried to stick me in a room with a bed that folded out from the wall

awakeningaimee @JeffreyJKingman the ONT airport told him that he would make it to PHX then have to sleep at airport

msgatoradr @JeffreyJKingman I was ill one weekend and they refunded my non-refundable reservation. They did so promptly, no questions asked

MarshaCollier If air delay is due to weather, you could be out of luck

hianthony @MarshaCollier I’m with you regarding TripAdvisor’s hotel ratings.

MarshaCollier If the delay is caused by the airlinethen the provisions in the Contract of Carriage differ & airline’s responsibility increases

MarshaCollier @msgatoradr Good to hear

awakeningaimee @MarshaCollier #custserv the only reason he didn’t end up sleeping in the PHX airport is they ended up shutting down ONT

MarshaCollier @goodskinla I Love those rooms (only kidding) what happened?

karla_porter Classy –> Murphy bed RT @goodskinla: @MarshaCollier NYC , 4 Seasons bed that folded out from the wall

awakeningaimee @JeffreyJKingman #custserv they gave him no prior notice of cancellation nor were helpful at first

MarshaCollier @awakeningaimee If it’s not a weather delay the airlines should offer a hotel for overnight delays

JeffreyJKingman @goodskinla Sometimes hoteliers will think an identified high-roller (not sayin you arent) trumps a norm reservation, esp if full

SkagitIMS #custserv as to Q4 @JeffreyJKingman I wish when trying to book seaplane ride via hotel, 2 person min mentioned. “FINE PRINT” MUST BE BOLD.

msgatoradr @JeffreyJKingman Q4 They shouldn’t pass the buck. If there’s a problem, resolve it. Don’t make them contact hotel/car/etc partner.

MarshaCollier @karla_porter I stayed in the Warwick in NY and all the windows faced a brick wall

Shennee_Rutt @karla_porter Good for you! See, you got good stuff

karla_porter Like my office LOL RT @MarshaCollier: @karla_porter I stayed in the Warwick in NY and all the windows faced a brick wall

awakeningaimee @MarshaCollier #custserv they would not put him on another airline

JeffreyJKingman @MarshaCollier btw (off topic) I interviewed a PizzaHutCallCenter employee in depth last week; will email very intriguing

MarshaCollier @JeffreyJKingman Which is why it always helps to dress well when you travel

JeffreyJKingman RT @msgatoradr: Q4 They shouldn’t pass the buck. If there’s a problem, resolve it. Don’t make them contact hotel/car/etc partner.

awakeningaimee @MarshaCollier #custserv what’s rule 240? I heard there was a Rule that if you say it they have to put you on the next plane out????

JeffreyJKingman @MarshaCollier Is Rule 240 international or only North America or only US?

JeffreyJKingman RT @SkagitIMS: #custserv as to Q4 I wish when trying to book seaplane ride via hotel, 2 person min mentioned. “FINE PRINT” MUST BE BOLD.

awakeningaimee @JeffreyJKingman #custserv they ended up putting him up due to closing ONT & he got home 28 hours late. Had to reschedule patients

JeffreyJKingman @MarshaCollier Yes, always dress well. And I wear sturdy shoes, in case of trouble.

JeffreyJKingman @awakeningaimee thats loss of business for him; if airline fault they should compensate?

awakeningaimee @JeffreyJKingman he sat in the airport 6 hours before they finally put him up in a hotel

karla_porter @TrinaWardell I don’t stay in all-inclusive places, I like to venture out and eat the local cuisine

MarshaCollier @JeffreyJKingman Rule 240 is the U.S. Department of Transportation, also requires the airlines to keep copies of CofC on hand

msgatoradr @awakeningaimee The original Rule 240 you refer to no longer exists. Have to refer to airline’s Contract of Carriage.

MarshaCollier @awakeningaimee Airlines’ Rule 240: Myth or magic bullet? – CNN.com http://bit.ly/94DJfw

karla_porter I do not EVER check baggage, if it doesn’t go in the carry on it doesn’t go – I hate baggage claim!

JeffreyJKingman Tstorms shifted our flight to Minneapolis; they weren’t going to put up; had 2 young childs; we bitched loud, they gave rooms

MarshaCollier @msgatoradr exactly, that’s why I posted the link

awakeningaimee @JeffreyJKingman huge loss in business plus we see sick babies #custserv He has had 4 flights cancelled without notice in the last 2 years

MarshaCollier @karla_porter I never check baggage either

JeffreyJKingman That was regional carrier in midwest; forget the name, 6 yrs ago

MarshaCollier @JeffreyJKingman You were lucky, I dont’ think they *had* to

toddschnick @karla_porter well heck, now it costs you $1000 to check bags… #custserv about 3 hours ago from TweetDeck

MarshaCollier @msgatoradr Airlines’ Rule 240: Myth or magic bullet? – CNN.com http://bit.ly/94DJfw #custserv

mommysbazaar @MarshaCollier I am going to try next time I fly to not have to check baggage #custserv

MarshaCollier @toddschnick It’s cheaper to ride IN the bags LOL

JeffreyJKingman @MarshaCollier we were lucky, yes

MarshaCollier I think, after all we’ve heard, that READING THE RULES before we book or buy is best practice

toddschnick @MarshaCollier that’s a good point. didn’t think of that.

karla_porter I’m a cheap date =) RT @toddschnick: @karla_porter well heck, now it costs you $1000 to check bags…

awakeningaimee @JeffreyJKingman #custserv the airlines used to have some responsibility seems like that’s not the case anymore

JeffreyJKingman @toddschnick My long-distance I prefer @Amtrak; much easier and comfy. No obscure charges; excellent service (not endorsed message

MarshaCollier @toddschnick I’m always thinking 😉

msgatoradr Amen! RT@MarshaCollier I think, after all we’ve heard, that READING THE RULES before we book or buy is best practice

JeffreyJKingman RT @jennylwebb: @JeffreyJKingman Sometimes you HAVE to bitch loud!

Shennee_Rutt @MarshaCollier Greats show tonight! Thanks so much

MarshaCollier Please visit https://custservdialogue.wordpress.com for tonight’s and previous transcripts.

karla_porter I’m claustrophobic RT @MarshaCollier: @toddschnick It’s cheaper to ride IN the bags LOL

mommysbazaar @MarshaCollier – this is the second week in a row you want people to actually read LOL

SkagitIMS RT @MarshaCollier: I think, after all we’ve heard, that READING THE RULES before we book or buy is best practice

JeffreyJKingman Thanks everyone for a great #custserv tonight!

Shennee_Rutt @karla_porter I am with u Karla, Carry on the bag, keep the $1000.

MarshaCollier If anyone has suggestions for the topic of next week’s chat, please DM me or @JeffreyJKingman

MarshaCollier @mommysbazaar uh-oh? you mean there’s a recurring theme that we ALSO have to be responsible?

awakeningaimee @msgatoradr #custserv thanks

MarshaCollier Please let us know if you’d like us to address specific topics!

mommysbazaar @MarshaCollier yep, not sure if you are asking to much. always easier to blame the other guy

JeffreyJKingman @karla_porter Thank you so much for the blog writeup on #custserv! :))) cc: @MarshaCollier

toddschnick @JeffreyJKingman well, honestly, traveling by train does have some advantages… good idea!

Shelley_Rae RT @MarshaCollier: Please let us know if you’d like us to address specific topics!

Shelley_Rae RT @MarshaCollier: If anyone has suggestions for the topic of next week’s chat, please DM me or @JeffreyJKingman

Shelley_Rae RT @MarshaCollier: Please visit https://custservdialogue.wordpress.com for tonight’s and previous transcripts.

MarshaCollier RT @mommysbazaar: @MarshaCollier ­this is the second week in a row you want people to actually read LOL

awakeningaimee @MarshaCollier thanks @CNN is usually on top of things. I will read it

mommysbazaar I havent traveled by train since 1987, probably should check it out again

toddschnick @MarshaCollier i might ship myself via UPS. they do have cool trucks…

MarshaCollier @toddschnick I prefer to fly FedEx in a BIG box!

toddschnick @karla_porter claustrophobic and a cheap date. we have got to talk…

awakeningaimee @JeffreyJKingman #custserv It sad that customer service comes to having to be so pushy.

MarshaCollier Thank you all. See you next week? Same Twit-time 🙂

karla_porter XXOO RT @JeffreyJKingman: @karla_porter Thank you so much for the blog writeup on #custserv! :))) cc: @MarshaCollier

JeffreyJKingman Train lines MUCH shorter, double legroom, seat reclines double; w/natl wifi attenae, coverage 80% of country

karla_porter What are you thinking, the park? RT @toddschnick: @karla_porter claustrophobic and a cheap date. we have got to talk…

mommysbazaar another great chat, glad I had something to say this week

MarshaCollier @awakeningaimee If we don’t stand up for ourselves, we may not get service. Asking ain’t getting, but sometimes works

awakeningaimee @JeffreyJKingman #custserv I tweeted about USair #fail I guess they aren’t on Twitter or don’t care

MarshaCollier @karla_porter Thank you for your blog writeup, I will RT it again later

JeffreyJKingman Train prices cheaper, I’ve left laptop for an hour on seat tray. On 3 tripscoast2coast only had seat next filled total of 6 hrs

awakeningaimee @MarshaCollier #custserv agreed

msgatoradr Thanks for letting me jump in @JeffreyJKingman @MarshaCollier @awakeningaimee

JeffreyJKingman @msgatoradr thank you for joining!

awakeningaimee @msgatoradr #custserv thanks for jumping in.

BizzOnWeb @MarshaCollier Later you. Hoep all is well and you’re feeling good 🙂

toddschnick @karla_porter hmmmm, wide open spaces. and most parks are free. might be a good option for ya!

JeffreyJKingman @awakeningaimee If they have a “good” socialmedia manager – they’ll notice #USAir. If not….. #custserv #fail

msgatoradr @JeffreyJKingman Great. Look forward to another good chat.

awakeningaimee @JeffreyJKingman I agree & it’s unfortunate they did not

awakeningaimee @JeffreyJKingman @msgatoradr @MarshaCollier see ya later thanks

expertresumeman RT @karla_porter: I do not EVER check baggage, if it doesn’t go in the carry on it doesn’t go – I hate baggage claim

Leave a Reply

